Russia to abolish international roaming with three countries.

Russia to abolish international roaming with three countries.
Photo by Saugat Giri / Unsplash

Russia will abolish international cellular roaming with Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Armenia, members of the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU), by 2025, Vedomosti newspaper wrote with reference to the application to the Eurasian Economic Commission (EEC), sent to all major mobile operators of the union states and the Ministry of Economic Development of Russia.

"Russia will abolish international cellular roaming with Eurasian Economic Union (EEU) members Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Armenia by 2025," the newspaper reported, citing a document dated March 16 whose authenticity was confirmed by sources in the two Big Four operators. "Vedomosti" sent enquiries to the Ministry of Economic Development, the Russian Ministry of Finance and the EEC.
It is specified that earlier the EEC had asked for information on fair tariffs for mobile services in international roaming. In a letter the Commission requests data on the number of subscribers, the amount and cost of services provided to subscribers of EEU member states from January 1, 2020 to December 31, 2022, as well as information about revenues received, until April 14.

In addition, a roadmap for the abolition of roaming on the territory of the EEU was attached to the request. According to it, after conducting analytical work, operators should start measures to suppress fraud on their networks. By the end of 2024, telcos should develop "rules for using fair tariffs for communication services on the territory of member states", and by the first quarter of 2025, operators should reduce international interconnect rates and introduce appropriate tariffs for cellular services for subscribers of EEU states.